FrameDeck

by Richard Sutherland / Brickbots · Hard · manifest draft — being verified

A slab-style portable computer built around a Framework laptop mainboard, with a 7-inch HDMI display, custom 36-key mechanical keyboard, trackball, speakers and a transparent layered-acrylic enclosure.

Framework supplied Richard Sutherland with a laptop, mainboard and modules for an open-design collaboration. Inspired by pre-clamshell slab computers—particularly the TRS-80 Model 100—he combined the serviceable Framework mainboard and battery with a custom compact keyboard, trackball and clear laser-cut enclosure that leaves the hardware visible.

Original: github.com, github.com, github.com, github.com, github.com, github.com, github.com, github.com

Printable files

File links are being added. Check the original source above in the meantime.

Jump to the parts list ↓ · License tags say whether you may sell prints (NC = non-commercial).

Parts

QtyPartPriceBuy
1×Framework laptop mainboard
Exact processor generation and mainboard revision are not stated.
—Search eBay
1×Framework laptop battery
Exact battery revision and capacity are not stated.
—Search eBay
1×Intel Wi-Fi 6E AX210 vPro M.2 module
The BOM links the Framework Intel Wi-Fi 6E AX210 vPro product path.
—Search DigiKey
1×FrameDeck-compatible Wi-Fi antenna set
Creator-linked listing is Amazon ASIN B08T8F3GDT; specifications are undocumented.
—Search Amazon
1×M.2 NVMe SSD
Capacity, manufacturer and module length are unspecified.
—Search Micro Center
1×16GB DDR4 SO-DIMM
BOM specifies DDR4 SO-DIMM; README reports 16GB.
—Search Micro Center
1×Logitech 161A T-SBC12-CP trackball board
BOM names Logitech 161A / T-SBC12-CP.
—Search eBay
1×7-inch HDMI IPS display used by FrameDeck
Creator-linked Amazon ASIN B08H8HZRLQ; resolution and manufacturer are unstated.
—Search Amazon
1×USB-C-to-HDMI cable used by FrameDeck
Creator-linked cable was adapted into a right-angle internal cable.
—Search Amazon
1×Adafruit enclosed speaker set, product 1669
One set; BOM links Adafruit product 1669.
—Search Adafruit
1×FrameDeck 36-key keyboard PCB
Fabricated from the repository Gerber archive.
—Search Elecrow
1×6×6×7mm four-pin tactile switch
Keyboard BOM specifies this four-pin reset switch.
—Search DigiKey
36×Gazzew Boba U4 Silent MX switch
Completed build uses Boba U4 Silent switches; PCB accepts MX-style switches.
—Search Amazon
36×1N4148 SOD-123 switching diode
Keyboard BOM specifies SOD-123 packages.
—Search DigiKey
1×Elite-C keyboard controller
Required because the design uses the extra pins.
—Search Amazon
2×Keebio SKUF silicone keyboard feet
Two silicone feet specified.
—Search Amazon
2×Conical keyboard feet with M3 screws
Two raised conical feet with M3 screws specified.
—Search Amazon
1×FrameDeck layered acrylic enclosure
Official DXFs produce 16 layers in four acrylic thicknesses.
—Search Ponoko
1×M2 × 3mm heat-set insert
One lot; creator does not provide a count.
—Search Amazon
1×Long M2 standoff assortment
One lot; lengths and count are unspecified.
—Search Amazon
1×M2 hardware assortment
One lot; no complete hardware schedule is published.
—Search Amazon
1×Six-position ribbon cable
Pitch and connector type are unstated.
—Search DigiKey
1×Micro-USB-to-Dupont power cable
Custom display-power cable; polarity and length are unstated.
—Search Amazon
1×Internal USB-C-to-USB-C cable
Length and connector orientation are unstated.
—Search Adafruit
36×MX-compatible keycaps for 36-key layout
Quantity inferred from switch count; profile and legends unspecified.
—Search Amazon
1×Choc low-profile momentary switch
Exact switch variant is unstated.
—Search DigiKey
1×Two-part epoxy
Optional cable strain relief; type and amount unstated.
—Search Amazon
1×Thin stranded insulated hookup wire
One lot; gauge and length are unstated.
—Adafruit Search Amazon
1×Female Dupont connector
One assortment; connector housing/contact count is unstated.
—Search DigiKey
Parts cost estimate coming soon: prices are being checked at reputable sellers.

Notes

Official repository checked at commit 2bcefecc659123285309a61942164fce27050417. Keep as draft: docs/parts.md explicitly says the parts list is not comprehensive, and docs/build_tour.md says it is not a full guide. Exact mainboard and battery revisions, antenna specification, display model/specification, NVMe capacity, cable geometries, hardware counts, standoff lengths, ribbon pitch, keycap specification and print material remain unknown. The printed-parts page says STL while the repository publishes 3MF. README says files are MIT or CC BY-SA 4.0, but LICENSE contains MIT only and there is no per-file license mapping.

The BuildDeck dispatch

A weekly email of new build manifests and parts deals is coming soon.